Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Not so simple ...

Ok, it's another food blip. It's been a truly dreary day in the West of Scotland, with the grey turning into drizzle by noon and a raw wind blowing. I had no need to go out, and didn't. But I suddenly remembered I'd taken no photos just as I sat down to eat, so here's a story to go with it:

I was shopping in the local supermarket when I was accosted by an acquaintance, who commented on the meat I was buying. I said I would casserole it, if I had the energy (I was still full of the cold at this point). She looked at me oddly. Surely, she opined, a stew was simply a matter of cutting up the meat and some veg and bunging them in a pot with some water and leaving them there till they cooked?

I feel sad when I think of what that kind of stew will taste like. This one had its components - rump steak, some streaky bacon, shallots, garlic, carrots, mushrooms - seared in oil in batches, thickened slightly with some flour stirred in as I fried, topped up with about half a pint of red wine, salt, black pepper and two bay leaves. It was all cooked in the oven for over 3 hours at a low temperature. The carrots on the side have been cooked for 8 minutes; the potatoes boiled. Sprinkled over the top is a mix of chopped parsley and garlic. It was entirely delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.