Lenbean

By Lenbean

Apologies for the Speech.

A friend took me to a needle village in Guangzhou. I don't want to patronize you, it's I find the culture significance of these really interesting so I'm going to explain it in simple terms (because I'm a simple person).
The Chinese government will often tear down areas of residence in order to construct different buildings. The residence of this area, however, carried on protesting even though half of the buildings were already destroyed. Then, due to the mayor being involved in some money scandal, the project was cancelled, 'saving' the peoples homes.
In the foreground you can see the poverty in which these people live, and in the background, Zhujiang New Town, Guangzhou's second richest district. Oh China.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.