The Blackcountry Man

By brickmaker

Setting up a Rifle....

It sometimes takes a lot of time to set up a rifle to shoot straight and true and I don't mean just zeroing in the sights.
Ballistics is a precise craft, even a small thing can upset a rifle trajectory, tonight I found that a club members rifle was shooting erratically and he had checked the barrel, action sights and still couldn't get it to shoot straight, he thought it just had to be him, so he asked me to check it out. After about 15 shots I still couldn't get it to group, so I inspected the rifle minutely and the only thing I could see that was not correct was the barrel which should be fully floating was being interferred with by the stock, it was touching on the left hand side.
So next week he will remove some woodwork and stop the barrel being touched, then we will see again on Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.