Life Savors

By osuzanna

The Watchcock - circa 1770

After a temperature drop of almost 40 degrees from yesterday’s warm weather, a dark day of solid rain set in and I was at a loss for a photo op. I toyed around with more jewelry and some crystal, and then decided on this 18th century Watchcock. This is sealed in glass and framed so I had to shoot it through the glass. It belonged to my parents.

A watchcock is a cover that fits inside the case of a watch and over the delicate balance wheels. No two watchcocks are alike. In the design, one may find birds, dolphins, dragons, lions, snakes, cherubs, heraldic and Masonic symbols, bizarre and grotesque faces, mythological animals, baskets of flowers and urns and even human heads in full face or profile.

The composition of the design was usually very elaborate and based on a star, wheel, rosette, architectural form or even the artisan’s name or initials. The upper section of this one is about the size of coin (nickel).

Before I mention what I see in this watchcock, I am curious to know what others see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.