eyesee

By davidc

First Frost of Winter - Time for the Winter Tyres!

There was a heavy frost this morning, so clearly the temperature has dropped below the 7 Celsius at which some of the pundits seem nowadays to be recommending winter tyres.

I've never used them before but having bought a new car this year, it seemed a good time to get hold of a spare set of wheels and winter tyres. Ebay came to my rescue to save me some cash! The only real investment is the new set of wheels as using different tyres in winter will prolong the life of the summer ones...and I'm fortunate to have garage space at home to store them.

Web surfing suggested that I should inform my insurer, but happily my particular company does not regard this as a change of specification as long as the wheels are the same type (steel in my case) and the tyres the same size. (It seems crazy that some insurers should load the premium for a change made in the interests of safety, but it's a funny world!).

(Bonus: Changing these over gave me an ideal opportunity to train my son in the art of changing a wheel; when I bought the car I made sure it had a proper spare, not spacesaver ones or the kits of sealer!)

View large here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.