My Long Term Memory

By marinakari

Marin joulukalenteri, 3rd door

We Finns count down the 24 days before Christmas by using Advent Calendars.
I haven't got one for myself this year, so I decided open my own Advent Calendar here in Blip.
So today I open another door of Marin Joulukalenteri:


Tonttu (Finland) is a mythological creature from Scandinavian folklore typically associated with the winter solstice and the Christmas season. It is generally no taller than three feet, has a long white beard and wears colorful clothes.
According to tradition, tonttu's secretly live in houses and act as their guardian. If treated well, they protect children and animals from evil and misfortune, and they also help with chores and farm work.

Children in Finland write their Wish lists to Santa and leave it wait for tonttu to deliver it. Usually letter is vanished over night and kids know tonttu took it.

There is also lovely christmas song telling about the life of tonttu
This is my favourite version of the song by acapella group Rajaton.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.