Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

The Town Church...

It was raining this morning and I didn't really want to take my sparkling new camera out in the rain so tried a shot out the lounge window. It was OK but not very exciting so I hung on until I thought it had stopped raining and ventured out. But there was still heavy drizzle. I took a couple of shots but nothing worth blipping and nothing I could wind a story around.
After lunch I thought I'd try the Town Church and was pretty happy with the result. In fact I really couldn't decide between three or four shots but decided on this one because you can see the oculus through which the bells were hauled up. In the ringing room we have a wooden box fixed over this but can open the trapdoor to see through when we need to know when to start ringing, for example at a wedding.

The current bells were cast and hung in 1994 but dated 1995 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the liberation of Guernsey from German occupation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.