Turn left

Turn left here off the Kingston bypass and you come to my childhood home where I lived until I was seven. This was in the 1940s and in those days this now very busy A3 was a single carriageway. I remember one day my father was flying a kite on a piece of wasteland close to the road (no longer there of course) when the string broke and he chased the kite across the road! There is no way he could do that now!

We were driving to SW London to a golf lunch. I am sure I was only invited so that I could drive Normous home (he admits it!). It was such a long boozy lunch with speeches, prize giving etc, ending with rowdy singing, that it was rush hour by the time I had to drive him home. I did win a bottle of champagne in the raffle, some consolation!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.