Skyroad

By Skyroad

Wingpig(s) Will Fly

Or roughly pig-shaped clouds anyway.

The first thing I noticed yesterday was the sky, those skittish clouds. Dangerous if you're driving the narrow suburban backroads of Blackrock; I had an accident not so long ago with someone coming the wrong way out of a one-way street, and I wasn't even distracted by clouds.

I wanted something to frame them though, some kind of contrast. I actually thought of this lane (off George's Avenue) before I reached it. But I had either forgotten that wonderful pig mural or it might be a recent enhancement. I stopped and walked up to it. The place is a motor-repair place (I think), or maybe just a junkyard. Not many such spots in a neighbourhood where property prices are not merely through the roof, but stratospheric. Some years ago, the barn used to have stacks of secondhand clothes/furniture/books, a kind of car boot sale, suits and beds for the terminally depressed.

Nobody about, though I kept half-expecting some big guy in greasy overalls to clap a hand on my shoulder; 'Deliverance' made a big impression on me when I saw it at around 17.

I thought about using THIS SHOT as the main blip, as it shows the whole mural and gives a more thorough sense of the strangeness of the place, the feeling of having wandered into Nowheresville. But the sky in the other one is better, a circus of flying pigs. I wasn't thinking of the assignment at the time; in fact I had misunderstood the requirement. Now the picture seems senendipitous, a very odd portrait of 'Wingpig'. I hope he likes it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.