Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

A little late...

Dear Diary,

I had meant to post this on December 1st but forgot. This morning I thought I'd do it since I'm not quite 100% yet and this was easy to do. These are enlargements of an old calendar I had years ago of the paintings of a 19th century French illustrator Eugene Grasset. Each month depicts a woman in her garden. Her dress or apron is decorated with the zodiac sign for that month.

My friend, who is a fine arts printer, enlarges the images and prints them on a translucent cloth. I add a quotation from my book of days which is based on the Cadfael series. Cadfael was a medieval monk who is the monastery herbalist and solves mysteries...PBS did a wonderful series based on the books with Sir Derek Jacobi as Cadfael.

They hang in my kitchen window and I love the way the light illuminates the illustrations. It is the first thing I see when I walk into the kitchen each morning. This month's quotation is:

"What I feel", said Cadfael, "When the divines begin talking doctrine is that God speaks in all languages and whatever is said to him or of him in any tongue will need no interpreter."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.