The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Tarantulas (updated)

I'd wanted to visit 2 popular social enterprise restaurants when I was last in Phnom Penh but the water festival meant both were closed. I used my 24 hours back in town to visit both. First was Romdeng where I had the crispy tarantulas and red ants. They're a popular choice here as westerners (including me) prefer to order unusual dishes from restaurants rather than street vendors.

The tarantulas weren't anything special but they weren't bad either. I described them as a bit like soft-shell crab but nowhere near as tasty. The red ants were part of a beef dish so I'm not entirely sure what they taste like even after trying to pick them out individually.

I also asked to see a live tarantula and took photos of and video of it crawling over my hand. However my camera's memory card fell victim to a virus from an internet cafe and I lost a few days' worth of stuff. Luckily I took this photo of my receipt on my phone.

In the evening I went to Friends, the older sister of Romdeng and had a couple of local tapas dishes. Delicious but less adventurous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.