Fire Alarm

I was surprised to hear the fire alarm going off as we only had a fire drill a few weeks ago. Its an adult education centre so getting people to leave the building is not difficult. You think that it will never happen but it did today. There was a real fire in part of an unoccupied building which is attached to the school. The evacuation went smoothly until one of my students disappeared into the toilet, he thought it was only a drill. I thought it was myself, but I always treat it as if it is the real thing. I was trying to keep an eye on my other students as well as him. He eventually reappeared. He said it was urgent.

The Bray Fire Brigade arrived quickly as they are only a few miles from the school. One of the firefighters said that a few more minutes and it could have taken off completely. They got it under control after a while and let us back into our part of the building.

Many thanks to Bray Fire Service. They lost two fire-fighters fighting a fire in 2007. The service is only part time and they have been fighting for a full time service for many years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.