If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Silver Acorn.

The Silver Acorn is according to the newspaper clipping that stays with it "the highest award in scouting". I must admit I have always thought it was the highest available to someone who was no longer an active member still in uniform (as opposed to the highest) but I may be wrong.

It was presented for 44 years running Scouts and Cubs in Aspatria followed by dedicated support and fund raising. It was presented on the 23rd April 1974 by the queen at the St George's Day parade in Windsor Castle.

She took started the Cub pack before the war and took over the Scout troop when the Scout Master went away to war. As well as working in the movement at Aspatria she help for a number of years with the Wigton Troops summer camps.

As if all that wasn't enough she helped my wife with her Guide camps for a year or two.

I had no inspiration for a blip today and decided it was time I blipped the Acorn, having promised to in my blip of 24th May.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.