Two Dusty Feet

It's been a totally full on day, although not as much time as usual has been spent at the computer. I've mostly been in meetings, or on the phone, both business and pleasure. The business meetings were very businesslike and much was achieved. The meetings for pleasure, both with beautiful and remarkable young women, were a delight. It all came together today because I am running away tomorrow. I have just about got everything in place so that I can leave with a clear conscience.

Meet Rebecca, with the two dusty feet. I first met Rebecca something over a year ago, in the Shipley Health Store when she was hired to help run the shop. She was one of the important ingredients in creating the oasis of calm that I used to enter every lunchtime when getting my sandwich. She has a presence that is hard to describe. I immediately knew that this was no ordinary young woman. Over time I got bits and pieces of her story in odd moments of quiet between customers and grew to realise just how extra ordinary she is.

One lunchtime we met in Market Square and I had the chance to talk to her properly. She has already experienced more than most of us will in a lifetime. She simply looked too young to have done all the things she described. I had to be bold and ask her old she was. Just twenty-two years of age! It did not seem possible. She has just completed her second book, which will be published soon, full of the stories of the street people of Kolkata, whom she met and tried to help during a six month stay in India, travelling on her own as a special kind of journalist. I don't have a religious faith but I do have enormous respect for those that do and actually live that faith out authentically in the real world.

Rebecca is being blipped today because it was her last day of working before beginning her next adventure, studying Massage Therapy in Los Angeles. I found out it was her last day because I popped into the shop last week and asked after her. She wasn't in then. I was telling one of the owners just how impressed I was with her, saying all sorts of nice things indeed, when he pointed out that the man standing three feet away from us was her father! I trust he felt proud. He should be.

So good luck with this next phase of your life Rebecca. I will be following you. And reading your book as soon as it becomes available. For those who are intrigued to know more, this is her website: Two Dusty Feet. Please watch the video. It's beautiful.

Finally, feeling very chuffed that my alter ego has a little coronet to wear for a week. Thanks for that, and all the nice words from you folk out there. What a fabulous community this is.

Sorry not to be able to hang around. I have a little bag to pack!

PS Now there's a funny thing. My year ago shot was taken in precisely the same place as today's. A reminder perhaps that I've not come very far in a year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.