Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Machen Moon


It's been a quiet day with no calls out. I managed to buy my charity Christmas cards and post one Air Mail to France. I bought a book of 12 and that was about £6.45....I can't believe how expensive it's gone to post mail, and on top of that you have to be so careful with size and weight. They measure and weigh letters and delight on delivering a note asking the recipient to pop in to the sorting office and pay a fine of £1.50 to collect it! Thank goodness for e-mails - they're quicker, don't get stolen and are free.

I can see me drastically cutting down on whom I send cards to this year and will deliver as many as I can personally. On this note I popped in to see my friend and his wife who live in a caravan, mostly at Tredegar Park. They are off on Sunday to Cheltenham Caravan Club site (they say it's the best they've stayed at) for a week before returning for three weeks over Christmas. They were quite cosy as the cost of the pitch includes all electric!

Talking about electric, I fed in my meter readings yesterday and it automatically wanted to reduce the standing order to £55 per month total for our gas and electricity supply. Not bad for a detached house - and we don't skimp! I kept it at £65 as we've started putting on the electric floor in the kitchen. It might be cheaper to put socks on in the morning when I get up to make a cuppa to take back to bed!

The blip photo is taken from Machen river bridge. I just liked the way it's virtually a full moon and the reflections on the water, with the various street lights.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.