Northern Exposure

By Northern

Gowan

After yesterday's silliness, I thought I'd follow Chaos' advice and take a picture of a pretty girly flower. In return I thought I'd teach him the Scot's word for Daisy - Gowan. It's usually applied to the bigger kind that grows wild but I think you can use it at any time.

This is one of many that grows wild around the edges of our veg garden. Some would consider them weeds I suppose, but they're too nice to pull up.

Gowans feature in one of my favourite songs, I think I may have left a bit of it on Seaurchins page a while back but it's worth a view again. To me it is the song of a Scottish summer. It's worth a listen.

Follow The Heron
Karine Polwart


The back of the winter is broken
And light lingers long by the door
And the seeds of the summer have spoken
In gowans that bloom on the shore

CHORUS
By night and day we?ll sport and we?ll play
And delight as the dawn dances over the bay
Sleep blows the breath of the morning away
And we follow the heron home

In darkness we cradled our sorrow
And stoked all our fires with fear
Now these bones that lie empty and hollow
Are ready for gladness to cheer

CHORUS

So long may you sing of the salmon
And the snow scented sounds of your home
While the north wind delivers its sermon
Of ice and salt water and stone

CHORUS X 2



Just realised, it wasn't intentional... but I guess this could be my good pal dieseldaisy I thnk she's got a few of these in her garden too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.