Megadance at Stroud Goodwill evening

It was Goodwill Evening in Stroud today and Helena and I went there a little later than planned, thus missing the hand-made lantern parade. It was still very busy at 6-45pm and we wandered about looking at the people in the streets and the busy shops which were staying open late with offer f mulled wine and mince pies in many places.

We went to St Lawrence's church to see the collection of small Christmas trees that are erected in there each year by a whole range of community groups. We were greeted by a flautist playing carols as visitors looked at all the pretty trees. On the way there we walked through the Shambles, the old original market place of Stroud, where a ukelele orchestra was playing carols, which I really liked.

I then left Helena as I only had a short time before I was expected to help man a stall for the Neighbourhood Plan. I did a circuit of town and saw jugglers, musicians, stalls of all sorts, including many hot food specialities being cooked on the street. The Farmer's Market was also open and busy although it usually only opens on Saturday mornings. In front of the there is a large performing area where white attired Morris dancers were dancing there usual manoeuvres.

Behind the Subscription Rooms is a parking area which is always filled on these Goodwill evenings by a few funfair stalls. There was a big inflatable slide for small children which seemed the most popular place of all. Next to it was a big rotating wheel on which punters could climb on and be sent up into the air as if on a big Catherine wheel. But my eye was caught by the colours and bright lights and artwork of the 'Megadance'. It isn't the sort of thrill that I enjoy being on, though I probably would have done when I was very young if they had existed in that form them. Nor do I like the iconography and rather blatant American consumer products they endorse. But as a spectacle to photograph it was quite fun. The people strapped in, as they got hurled around in big circles, seemed to be enjoying it.

I was intrigued when some alternative Morris dancers called the 'Styx of Stroud' turned up to perform by our stall in the High Street. My pictures were very poor as it was ver dark and I had no flash. Helena (aka Woodpeckers) has described them and their background quite well so I will leave it to her description
Helena and I waited till the evening had ended by the stall where we had few takers for our information about the Plan.

We were invited by my friend and colleague Camilla to her birthday dinner at a local tapas bar, which provided good food and a fun evening. I had to leave a bit early as I was feeling very tired after having been in bed for a lot of the week, but I didn't feel worse by the end of it all. I think it was generally agreed that this was one of the best Goodwill Evenings of recent years so a good time was had by all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.