Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Lom Apartment

We chatted about what to do. Like everyone else I wanted to stay and ski and also like everyone else I realised that the forecast wasn't good and the ski conditions we'd encountered in the last few days were beyond not good and downright dangerous.

Eventually I declared myself out of the debate, Mick & Kath were more experienced in getting the best out of situations like this, but that would normally be in the UK where we could be far more flexible. Here we were restricted to skiing or not skiing, and hanging around in Norway is an expensive business.

Through the hotel we'd been able to arrange a hire car, so without any decision yet being made Mick & Kath set off to retrieve the pulk and the stuff we'd left in storage at the Dombas Hotel. Rob, John and I made enquiries about forecasts, changing flights and then had a wander round Lom.

The pulk was duly retrieved, the ski up the track had been good, but going off track to where the pulk was stored had just confirmed the hopelessness of moving about on these conditions. I was reunited with my pc from Dombas and after a couple of hours of surfing and checking out all the options the decision was made.

The trip was aborted - we all rearranged our flights for this Sunday, going home two weeks early. In fact for me it proved cheaper to book an entirely new flight which had the benefit of being a far more convenient flight with less hanging around and flying into Heathrow as opposed to ending up on the wrong side of London at Gatwick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.