The Way I See Things

By JDO

Stratford-upon-Avon Christmas lights

Child One has come home today for an early birthday celebration with her ageds. We had a lovely dinner at Loxleys in Stratford, followed by a short stroll so I could photograph the Christmas lights at the junction of Union Street and Bridge Street.

While standing outside Austin Reed, waiting for the traffic to subside a little so I could get my shots, I found myself engulfed by a largish group of young women, massing on the same corner squabbling about where they were supposed to be going next. I felt at the same time extremely old, and profoundly grateful that I was wearing jeans, boots and a ski jacket, rather than the thigh-length dresses and 4" stilettos that seem to be de rigueur in their age group.

I'm away now to open some prosecco and trim a tree with the Firstborn. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.