Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Black Lives Matter

Sue and I joined one of many demonstrations going on all over the USA in the midst of numerous murders of Black men and boys by militarized police forces. The killing of Michael Brown in Ferguson, MO and the killing of Eric Garner in Staten Island, NY, are two of many. Every time this happens, righteous non-violent people get up and say, "This is unacceptable." Then it happens again.

I think it matters to stand in solidarity against injustice, to march if you are fit enough to do so, to take pictures and to write about it. It's better than doing nothing. But I have been doing that for nigh on fifty years now, and the killings go on. The militarized police forces grow in arms and might.

I have been devoted to non-violent change all my life, but I am listening now to other voices. This essay, from an African-American UU Buddhist minister, speaks of anger against injustice and suggests we "Let it burn." I see the reason in that.

More pictures are here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.