Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

Advent candle

Chantler's December Theme - Flame

This morning we were at a gorgeous Art Deco church not too far from where we live. This is the advent candle, simple, but effective. The colour, the purple, is for penitence and fasting, as we approach Christmas - although certainly fasting has never seemed to be an advent tradition I've come across! The first candle symbolises expectation and hope. The second, in this church (it does vary) was for the Prophets, who foretold the coming of the Messiah.

I've grown up with symbolism, some people like it as a structure. To me, I like the ritual aspect. I like the fact that you do certain things before Christmas - its a bit like a build up, I guess a bit like an advent calendar which the kids open.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.