vonsan

By vonsan

The stitches that keep us together

Sunday is usually a lazy day in our home, with #1 child in secondary school he usually does homework as the wee three potter about or read or more regularly, destroy their bedrooms with Lego and Sylvanian families.

Tomorrow is the 4th anniversary of my Nana's death, a period of time which was probably the most challenging in my life as in the space of a month I was trapped in a snowstorm with my then-18month old daughter for 12 hours, lost my Nana, gained a nephew and lost my Father in a house fire. This time of year makes me reflective, almost maudlin and it's a real effort not to become reabsorbed in that grief.

So today it feels entirely right to be channelling the patience my Nana demonstrated when I was wee, to teach #3 how to knit (at her request). It has been an arduous morning and I'm fighting impatient and unkind words in the hope that unconditional positivity will give her the same love for my Nana's craft as I have.

Happy Sunday, everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.