Letitgo

By Letitgo

Dialogue in the Dark

I am frighten to death of dark, I don't even close my eyes when I try to go sleep, sleep comes and invades my brain and I eventually fall asleep. I remember myself as a child running through the corridor of ours to reach the bathroom which was literally 2 meters away. When I grew up, nothing changed. I still run through the same corridor.

Today, my friends and I decided to experience something new, something unexpected, something challenging. We bought tickets for "Dialogue in the Dark". For your information, this is not a typical exhibit, you step in a completely dark room with 10 other people and with a help of visually challenged guide you experience Istanbul with your sense organs. Just one thing is different: You can't see anything! I mean not a single thing! No light, just like a blind person! Your other 4 sense organs and a stick helps you find your way.

We were in a room first and then we started to step into darkness. Utter darkness. For the first minutes, I was very tense. I tried to take all the air into my lungs, to count back from ten, but nothing worked. There was no way I am going to spend 1.5 hours blind. Then I heard our guide's comforting voice, he was telling us to leave the wall and walk towards him. My hand slowly slipped from the wall, even though I couldn't see anything, I walked, my beloved stick in my palm. I managed to let the tension go.

Everything was very interesting afterwards, I recognised things that I never give attention before: The texture of the ground, how did the wood actually feel like, the smell of the fruits and so on. And I realised something:

Dark is not that frightening after all.

That was the thing I wrote down when they gave us a paper and a pencil and wanted us to write down what we were thinking at that moment.

Try this again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.