My Photographic Footprint

By Theodora8

Everyday Needs.

This is the sort of shop I hope will never die.
It is run by a brother and sister, and it has been in their family for a long while.

The secret of it's success is that they know their stock. And they buy their stock to suit their customers. They know our requirements, and the sort of dotty things we will need, or run out of. They are not run by a Head Office.
I love that they have so much that they have to nip up a ladder to fetch you some rubber gloves. There are L plates next to picture hooks. They will mix you up a pot of paint in any colour. They talk to you, they know you. And their prices are fine.

I needed four metal dowel once, to hold up some Ikea shelves. Most of the originals had vanished. I took one in and they got some screws out of a drawer, matched the size up, sawed the heads off, by hand, and charged my 98p for the four. Try getting that in B&Q, if you can find someone to pay you any attention.

The banter in here is good too. On a cold day I will nip in, bask under the overhead heater, and listen to wonderful conversations about hardware, ( & a bit of wit) while I linger over soot removal sachets, or a fantastic range of hooks and chains. I can get my coal here.

I have noticed over the years that my visitors always ask to go into Norton's when they stay. The antique shops can wait. This is the place they want to go. Most go twice. One even wrote about it in The Oldie magazine.

I blipped the exterior of this shop a few weeks ago, and promised this interior shot. I hope you have enjoyed it. It is a treasure trove.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.