Episode two: the Monarch of the Glen

A day when I awoke to find such snow blowing harshly round the back yard of the palace, that I resolved to step out and meet the people to encourage them in their daily travails. It must have been the weather oppressing them, for they barely lifted their heads and I seemed not to be recognised as I passed them on the tow path. And then it struck me. I recalled hearing from one of my courtiers how Henry V disguised himself whilst moving among his serfs and camp followers. What his purpose may have been I can only guess, but it was the very opposite of what I wished for.
There was only one course of action. I continued on my way with renewed vigour and determined step until I came to the portals of the jewel house and there commanded the keeper to bring forth the crown. And thence I did stand and survey the scene and my subjects were quite overcome with admiration, for there instantly arose a mighty clamour of cheering and mirth, and great good spirits. Verily, King Jams loves his people and his people love him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.