PixelChristi

By PixelChristi

Warm up shot

I don't know why, but I always feel the need to photograph what's right in front of me. Possibly too often, that's a cup of coffee. I think it might be to do with trying to see everyday things differently. Hence my fascination with The Bridges, the most photographed man-made structures in Scotland (possibly), my fascination with making weeds look lovely in still life images and before the internet was a thing, a fascination with making things thrown up onto the beach look otherworldly, something I may revisit (unfortunately, those aren't on t'internet ).

It's emphatically not part of the social networking meme of posting shots of your breakfast. Paused may well remember I did this in uni, when making images was expensive. Y'know, using film and things. I've been taking crappy shots of cups of coffee for 20 years. =)

It's also, often, a lazy blip when I'm not feeling so great. And sometimes it's a visual and physical warm up before I venture out and try and make something decent.

Today, it's all those things. Literally a warm up, it's bloody cold outside. I'm in South Queensferry today, more out of habit born from years of coming here to photograph the bridges. Now I come here because it's nice to be cosy beside a fire with a hot cuppa. There's blimmin' black ice on the road. Nearly ended me as soon as I stepped out of the car.

I still haven't conquered my current bout of creative block. So it's a lazy blip. I have ideas, but my photo mojo is waning. Luckily I have commercial jobs coming. I don't get to be lazy with those and the urgency of deadlines forces me back into creative mode. But my personal work? I'm kind of adrift, the bridges still occupy that head-space, but I want to have finished that piece. Do something else. Maybe I need to accept that despite everything, there's more work to do there.

Maybe I'm obsessed.

The good news is that I've got an eager venue for the exhibition. So I could be showing again by the end of January. I've also got people wanting to buy my work. This is weird to me, but now I need to sort it out. I haven't even priced it yet.

Hope you all have a good day.


Edit: I felt the need after, to look for this quote.

I photograph to find out what something will look like photographed.

Garry Winogrand


Maybe I need to get myself in front of more interesting things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.