The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Jay Fai

When possible, I like to watch TV programmes about the food of each country or city I visit. With Bangkok I found an episode of the Hairy Bikers on the flight from the UK back in October. One of the places they visited was a lady called Jay Fai who is famous for her delicious and expensive street food. Although her unique kitchen set-up is on the street, there is a building with tables and chairs.

She is the only cook and uses woks over 2 large flames (controlled by a 'blower'). Watching her work was worth the money alone. Her most famous dishes are the drunken noodles and crab omelette. I had to try both! The omelette is crammed full of succulent crab meat (hence the £16 price) but the drunken noodles were the winner and only half the price. They also had a great tamarind drink and I'm a sucker for anything tamarind related (I bought 4 pots of tamarind sweets on Saturday).

I'd been thinking about trying her food for a while but it was out of my budget (I can stay in a hotel for 2 or 3 nights for the same price). However, tonight's meal was a treat from my lovely friends (and fellow foodies) Luke and Mandy!

If anyone else wants to pay for me to eat amazing food, I will consider offers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.