Inky Leaves

By inkyleaves

First Day working at the Royal Botanic Gardens Kew

First Day

An endless sky of optimistic* blue,
I wake up for my first day at Kew,
Planes roar and scream over my head,
Marking the sky with strands of white thread.

Polished black shoes on a dew laden park,
A major journey I am about to embark,
Blossom under trees in a huge purple matt,
They all came from heaven in one almighty splat.

Six pretty petals all hugging each other,
All getting on well like sister and brother,
Arms out stretched three anthers aglow,
All ready to reap from what they sow.

Joyful yaks from a cheeky woodpecker,
Hiding in branches above swirling water,
River runs smoothly to meet its fate,
Always on time, and never late.

Wind howls down the trampled path,
Broken finger yelps - the bitter aftermath,
Of a time that once was, and which my body can fix,
But the clock keeps ticking as the sun warms the red bricks.

No longer resting on a house past its prime,
I am dashing towards the Herbarium, ever conscious of the time.
I calmly walk through the glass doors grinning,
I am so excited about this new beginning.

* Optimistic Blue is described well by Studioslipware on her blog

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.