Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Re-roofing with stone slates

On my way back from the Post Office this morning I stopped on the roadside to take photos across the valley. It was the sort of beautiful morning that encouraged photography but discouraged getting out of the car. The wind was bitter. As I walked a short way along the road I spotted that they were re-roofing this barn. Stone slate is a very traditional roofing material around here, but largely seen as far too expensive for new buildings today. It's good that someone is taking the time and trouble to restore it.

We've just come back from a visit to the hospital and it was lovely to see my mum making such good progress after her emergency operation on Saturday morning.

And it's the inter-club competition against Stocksbridge tonight - the one where I spent so much time trying to involve fellow club members in the selection and agonizing over which images should make the final. I don't see us winning - they have some amazing wildlife photographers, but hopefully the gap won't be too great.

p.s. Well we didn't win but we only lost out by 4 marks so much closer than I feared. We had a judge that wasn't as enthusiastic about the excellent wildlife photography that was on show, which favoured us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.