Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

A Repeat Performance

I am sorry to those who are not into butterflies, but this one was a gift and I think it shows this delicate little NZ butterfly much better than yesterdays.

My deck is being stained today so went for a quick walk at the estuary. I stopped for a rest on a bench and this little gift settled right beside me - no cropping needed with this one.

This little Copper butterfly - Chrysophanus Enysii (thank you Pooba) stayed barely an arms length away as the sun warmed it up. It finally flitted off on its little 1.5 cm wide wings. I think I held my breath for most of the time.

Added later:
Thanks to Pooba, I now know this is a 'common copper' - Chrysophanus salustius. If you compare it with yesterdays, you will see the markings are quite different. Thanks for sharing this, Pooba.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.