Constant Exposure

By constant

Free Beer?

If you are going to home brew beer then you either need a keg or a lot of bottles to put the beer in. In my case we are talking about bottles. Where to get them? Well there are two choices: I can buy bottles from my local home brew store (LHBS) or I can save and use my old beer bottles. I choose the latter.

Now I was under the impression that 12oz bottles from the LHBS were a dollar each. If that were true then my staple beer from Costco would effectively be free, as they cost just under a dollar a bottle. I like that! But alas, I was mistaken. New bottles cost only 50 cents each. The 22oz bottles cost about a dollar twenty or so. Still, I now rationalize that all my 12oz beer purchases are now 50 cents cheaper and (more importantly) my 22oz purchases are $1.20 cheaper. Not like I need an excuse to buy beer....but it's nice.

Of course when I have enough bottles then I'm back to the old economics. Better enjoy it while I can....

BTW, in the blip I'm removing labels and cleaning the bottles using Oxi-Clean. Very effective. Still got about another fifty or sixty more bottles to collect. Happy days...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.