Sometimes

By powerplanter

Hot spot

At 09:30 hrs I received a call that there was a so-called Hot Spot at the boiler of unit EC 20.
A former inspection hole was blown out....
So the flames in the furnace came partly out.
The insulation was gone already (melted away).
The bad thing about this is that the immense heat causes severe damage to the construction of the boiler (which is immense with a height of 45 meters).
So I had to make the decision (after talking to maintenance department and our dispatch center) to stop the unit as soon as possible.
We are now going of the grid, only the gasturbine stays on.

Repair has to be carried out tonight....

Here is the access to the place (normally called "cremation alley" because it is always terribly hot over there).
I had to leave the spot because I otherwise would have damaged my camera....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.