Sunrise surprise

Helena has changed her work pattern this week which has meant that she has to leave much earlier and that requires rising earlier. She has faced this problem bravely but it is not without its impact on me either.

She woke me from my dozing state and when the curtains were drawn it was to the gradually emerging light of dawn. Within a few minutes these colours began to appear and I had to get out of bed to grab my camera.

I opened my study window into the frosty air but it has restricted movements so that my lens could only look in one direction. I have been a bit concerned as I managed to drop this lens on Sunday when I was stupidly rushing to change the lens on my camera in order to catch Bomble in a funny position. When I picked it up gingerly I could hear a rattle and thought I had managed to ruin it, again. I had to have it fixed (expensively) only a few months ago.

So I tried it out yesterday with a few test shots and thought it was actually focusing properly and behaving normally. I picked it up again this morning in a rush as I didn't know how long the sky would stay like this and quickly took a number of shots. I think it has focused properly again but it was a little harder to tell in these conditions. The twigs are the top branches of the large sycamore tees at the end of our garden. The dark horizon is the line of woods on the hillside opposite in the area called the Heavens about half a mile distant.

The sky was stunning and I was glad to be awake and actually up, as I am very bad at rising normally. So I decided that this would be my blip as it iis so unusual for me. I hope you like these 'lightsed effects' too. However, I have a feeling that there may well be a lot of similar blips today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.