Damian's Blips

By damiangrounds

Mothballs & the chatter of dentures!

For months now I have been wanting to attend one of the lunchtime musical recitals at the Chichester Cathedral. I'd heard they are well worth the effort. So today I managed to arrive promptly at 1.10pm to find almost all the chairs occupied.

Quickly taking an empty seat, against the backdrop of chattering dentures, I was met with the unmistakable waft of mothballs and then found myself looking out across a sea of pink or blue 'rinses'. I must have been the youngest person there.

It was one of the most calming lunchtimes I've spent in a while. An organ recital by Saki Aoki, that ended with a 'Rhapsodie gregorienne' by Jean Langlais.

It was Blipping heaven. Fabulous architecture, stunning stained glass windows, inscriptions at every turn and glorious sunlight, bursting in in long bright dust laden shafts. And just as the concert finished, I managed to get this quick Blip in, before being told off for taking a picture. Lol.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.