Windmills, Duck & a Kingfisher !

Had to go to Oxford again today this time to visit the H Centre for my 6 monthly check-up. They have almost persuaded me to go ahead with the string of ops required on my ankles to get me walking better. Its just a difficult decision to make. Since C & I have been married I have had to have 5 major operations and it has been bad for both of us but more so for her. If I go ahead with the proposals it will be a year wiped out & there's no guarantee that things will be better; that is of course with the exception of being pain free....well maybe.

Saw a very helpful Dr today who was not only considerate but very understanding of what my problems are. She will write to my GP regarding one or 2 things which may help me in the long term. Thankfully she is a permanent fixture at the Centre which makes a change as I see a different Dr (going through training) every 6months. She asked about my hobbies and has encouraged me to join a choir & sing which is something that she does often. I used to sing and did a couple of competitions in my youth but was always very nervous singing on my own. Maybe a choir would be the answer - we will see.

On the way home we came back across country through Horspath & Wheatley & I stopped in a rough layby & took several pictures of 2 windmills that I could see from that point. As we drove into Wheatley C persuaded me to drive along Windmill Lane. It was good to see the windmill close up - but I wouldn't recommend the unmade road unless you are in a 4x4. There are deep ruts & lots of mud. We eventually came out the other end in Littleworth.

On the way home we wanted to get some stamps for the Christmas cards & so diverted through Haddenham. We stopped at the parade of shops which has a small pond at the end of the car park. C went to get the stamps & I was sitting in the car when I saw a flash of colour at the water's edge. Can't be a Kingfisher can it ? But yes it was & I managed to get a few shots off though from a long distance. I got out of the car after it had flown in the hope that it might return but no such luck. Instead this Duck made a beeline for me (perhaps that should be Duckline), anyhow I didn't see the the Kingfisher again.

We got home by 2 & I was promptly set upon by some Jehovah's Witnesses in my drive. We had quite a chat & exchanged views but I had quite a job stopping Max from talking. Eventually he went with the promise that he would see me again.

Wet windy night but fine & mild today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.