OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Approaching the Point of Od

Many would say that I passed this point a long time ago, though |I don't remember being here at all. How odd!
This is the west coast of Deerness, on Deer Sound. The nearest farm is called Mirkady, but this house is unnamed on the map. I followed the shingle spit which becomes first Mirkady Point, then a channel and Point of Od. A hare ran onto the spit in front of me but then I could not find him. I asked an old woman sitting by the shore if she had seen a hare, but she just shook her head.

Not really, no old woman, the hare was probably just deep in the weeds, and I wasn't looking to disturb him. I walked along past Iron Hellia, Cullya Blet and the Dale of Helzie as far as the Covenanters Memorial. It marks the spot where 200 covenanters were shipwrecked and drowned as they were being shipped to slavery in America after losing the Battle of Bothwell Bridge. It stands over the Trow's Kettle, an inauspicious site.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.