Angle shades

My Daughter has had an operation on her knee today, which has been worrying, but she is doing well , and hopefully I will be able to drive to London to pick her up at the weekend.
I found this wonderfully upholstered Angle shades phlogophora meticulosa larva yesterday munching away on the geranium plant at work. To be honest I might not have noticed it but for the pile of poo on the shelf below the plant!
I was surprised to see this beauty so late in the year, but it is not the first time I have found them late in the year so I guess they must be quite hardy!
The Angle shades is a highly distinctive and unusual moth which has colouring that makes it look like a withered leaf. It flies between May and October but can be found any time of the year. It occurs throughout Britain, and is more common in the south.
I am sorry about the quality of this shot, but sadly the light is pants by 3.30 when I get home from work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.