Gifts of Grace

By grace

Spared

Juat as with @Tresnish we were spared the worst of the storm. Seas were roiling but no flooding.

Thank you for all your kind concern yesterday. I used to be more reckless, with a 'bring it on' attitude to storms. The ones we've had over the last couple of years have moved me to the 'better safe than sorry' camp. Both attitudes were much in evidence around town today.

The most notable thing about this storm was how hugely variable it was, even the wind direction shifting dramatically from moment to moment, gusts nearly blowing me off my feet. I had to walk around to the more exposed East bay to get this white-out shot of the pier.

A novel experience to swim (in the pool) with the sound of the wind howling all around, sudden darkening skies, thunder and lightning, then just as sudden brilliant sun flooding the water. On the way there and back hailstones as big as pennies stung my face, bounced off cars, lay thick on the ground.

I do like a bit of weather but I'm sure it's not just media hype that indicates it's getting weirder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.