immediately filled with pigeon

I only found out as we were on our way to our first ante-natal class the other week that the person taking the class lists reiki and aromatherapy amongst their skills and qualifications. In a way I wish I hadn't known as I possibly wouldn't have started scowling quite so noticeably quite so soon. If everything was simply presented as "just do what you feel comfortable doing but obviously don't do anything harmful and don't let them slice you open just for the hell of it" whilst just discussing what might happen, what usually happens, what the options are and so on then I'd have much less of a problem with it. Although I started scowling from the off and have been listening extra-carefully for anything which sounds like magic fairy nonsense I expect I'd have picked up on a certain frostiness towards what has been referred to with (her emphases) "'evidence'-based clinical medicine" even without the heads-up. The same slight but audible scorn appears when 'studies' and 'research' are mentioned in reference to an EBCM-authorised technique or policy, scorn which seems to be magically replaced by bright enthusiasm when referring to the un-cited evidence, studies and research claiming to support some anecdotal quackeries which sound like they've been heavily influenced by confirmation bias. Oddly, all hormones are referred to as 'chemicals' which is technically correct but unusual to hear from a fairy magic therapist in reference to substances produced by the body. Most of the rest of the class seems to be of sound and sensible mind and the general timbre of the content is acceptably sensible but the odd bit of glossed-over explanation or skipped answer niggles somewhat. Nicky has requested that I try to prevent myself scowling or exhibiting other behaviours indicating my discomfort like jiggling my legs or biting my nails during the classes so next week I shall occupy my hands and still my knees with a notebook and pencil and shall try to note down the details of the nuggets of bollocks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.