The Wren

By TheWren

A close encounter

Today was going to be busy as both girls were required back at the hospital to join the NICU staff for a publicity shoot - Mum and Dad had been invited too. Meanwhile granny was let loose for a couple of hours in a rather pleasant out of town shopping mall which just happened to be very, very close to the runway for Mcarran Airport. This is definitely the closest I have ever been to the underbelly of a jet plane.

The two hours simply whizzed by but I was ready for the family when they arrived to collect me, quite weary but happy. The photo team of six had been delighted with the girls as were all the NICU doctors and nurses who had turned up as this was the first time they had seen the girls properly together .... So everyone was vying for a cuddle with them.

Life is still very hectic as we all try to work around the twins especially as my son's shifts now take him away overnight. Up until now the new parents have been working on the "divide and conquer" regime but from now on for a few days the night shift will be solely manned by my DIL with me waking early to pick up the 6am shift. It usually works just fine unless the twins have a session of synchronised crying and then it becomes a bit of a comedy sketch, especially when I am in charge as I just don't have enough arms to cuddle two together!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.