Knottman2

By Knottman2

Howgill Fells

A lovely morning inArnside.

A walk down to the Pier allowed me to see that the Howgills had a covering of snow. They are rather special hills with a most appealing shape which is accentuated when snow covered and with sun from the southeast.

I am always surprised how well they can be seen from Arnside as they are just to the north of the town of Sedbergh. A considerable distance beyond the M6.

When I got home and downloaded I was quite pleased with the picture. The foreground sandbank has interesting striations, the water is a nice colour with both reflections and ripples. There are some clouds and even the tree on the left seems to be in the right place. If you look large you can see volunteers in yellow coats giving up their Saturday morning to do a beach clean.

I think this is one I shall print for the wall!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.