RogMull

By RogMull

Cabinet Secretary for Justice..

Alex Neil MSP, is my long time friend. I was therefore thrilled when he was appointed to his new cabinet post for Social Justice. He has had a lifetime's commitment to Social Justice and no better person to ensure it is put at the very heart of government.

We fixed up some further meetings today, including time next month for an interview for my TESS column on the relationship between his portfolio and post school education.

A few weeks back when appointed to his new post, Alex commented that,

"I saw the First Minister on Friday morning at Bute House; she thanked me and congratulated me on the job I’d done as health secretary, then told me that she had this big new portfolio of social justice, which is her number one priority, and wanted me to take on this responsibility."

Quite an honour, and he went on to explain that

“It’s most important that we see what we can do to reduce poverty and inequality, as that’s what social justice is all about.."

In a further move, Alex has been kind enough to publicly back my application to become the SNP candidate in Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath. He didn't need to do that, and I really appreciate his support, just as he has mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.