Plus ça change...

By SooB

Childcare

Mr B taking on the kids at arm wrestling. He won, obviously, but (don't tell the kids) has a sore right arm now...

My day started at a time starting with 6. Not my happiest time of day. And certainly not a time of day when I want to be making, tasting and applying icing to cakes. With all the goodies finished and elegantly packaged for sale, it was time to go to the market for TallGirl to sell cakes and raise money for her class trip. But oh hang on, have I forgotten something? Ah yes. TallGirl.

She had 'forgotten' to set her alarm. The temptation to leave her there and be really late was strong, but letting down her classmates (and teacher) felt like too high a price so I did wake her up and we were only a little late.

While TallGirl and classmates wandered about selling cakes, I did the usual marketing - veg, bread and cheese. Today with added spring rolls (when I spotted that Nems had the Tsingtao beer in again - Lesley) and curtain material for the half-way stair window. I'm getting a bit ahead of myself as: (1) the stairs aren't finished yet and (2) I still haven't finished the living room curtains.

Lots of chat at the market too, and lots of friends to catch up with. Though being invited to see a 100m long Christmas light garden exhibition was among the bizarrest things to come out of the day.

Back at home, our builders had arrived to tile the terrace and remove a chimney. Later there was much discussion about other jobs we want done and they left with a long list. They are all really good workers and I can trust them now to just get on with stuff and know that it will be done as well as they would do it in their own homes, and for a very reasonable price. Can't ask more than that really. And heating (or at least a little bit of heating) came a step nearer...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.