bimble

By monkus

Box

And so...day started with misplaced passport, which was fairly intense until achtstein pointed out that he was guarding it...I'm too stupid he informs me...and so another day in phnom penn began...

And breakfast noodles and coffee spent chatting in local place with unlucky tuk tuk driver and then to museum, still thinking on auden, stones, much Vishnu and siva with buddhas and then a small hall of paintings, modern, smattering of afterthought maybe but two quite wonderful one reminds me of Joe sacco another of mad acid art, Russell to be fair...but...

And so wandering aimlessly around, finding places and some recognitions and thinking that it's an intriguing place this. Many photo's day, some later on Flickr. And scribbles also.

It's more in yer face; familiar in its way, linking memories. And later sitting by the river, sun behind me only changing light and as the blue hour faded once again unto darkened hue of night the almost hallucinogenic boats bedecked in colour...I thought of chancelot mill,(sorry shearer) where the high rise prosperity across the water rose and of another mill on the edge of wien and friedhof der namenlosen and water, that endless river echoing across dream and memory...of the vortex of images of the last eleven months and suddenly rootless watched as images layered themselves upon the moment and found myself lost in a smiling fragment, deprived of self...I'd burn my map if I had one...

And now, sat in a bar by the river, watching the wheels through an emptying caiparinha, happy hour indeed:-) and it seems that I needed a city, that the beach is mere maya, a genera of expectation an echoed template regardless of geography...a scene and not a particularly interesting one at that. And while pp may not represent Cambodia as a whole it does have a certain magnetism about it...pondy vibe with an edge? maybe, maybe...or just a lucky meeting in the cyclical madness of the year...

Hmm. I need to write less and better I think. Gratitude and apologies to anyone who made it to the end of today's ramble...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.