mef13

By mef13

Quiet Corner

Found a quiet corner in Romsey today which looked as welcoming as it would have done three months ago.

The one difference of course, was the temperature, which struggling to make 10 degrees, explained why it was deserted as an outside venue for Sunday lunch or even a Sunday drink.

The restaurant inside at the White Horse Hotel appeared busy but no-one was braving the weather outside in this attractive courtyard at this moment today. I have sat outside in December in cooler climates, but in those Continental places there is a different mentality to life outdoors. It is true of course that the presence of patio heaters, do make a difference, but for the life of me I cannot think whatever possessed me and the family to sit outside for afternoon drinks in Romsey’s new Italian twin town of Treviglio when the temperature was more like zero.

I remember being invited to an evening barbecue here last September wearing a summer shirt admittedly with sleeves, but foolishly without a sweater or jacket, and by the time darkness came it was becoming very chilly, and while fortunately our host had a couple of patio heaters, it was still too nippy outside for me. Yet the temperature was possibly no lower than it was at lunchtime today.

So small wonder there were no takers for afternoon drinks in this quiet corner of Romsey when I walked by.

Pity! A nice glass of Rioja would have been most appealing. As it was, I went home for a hot cappuccino.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.