Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Sauvie Island

A seriously beautiful day so right after breakfast we headed to Sauvie Island for a walk; there were clear views of Mount Hood and Mount Saint Helens. This is the wash from a tug boat, it looked so pretty curling in at an angle against the beach.

We parked the car and stood listening to all the birds and the great flocks of geese in formation overhead before we headed down to the water's edge. I was looking out across the river near a marshy area, lots of reeds and rushes growing out of the sand, and I kept hearing something moving in some water, I investigated and found a salmon that had got stranded in some shallows, it was struggling mightily. I called out to my husband, he handed me his jacket and he picked up the fish (it was large) and he leapt out to a small hillock - the water would rush around it but then retreat and was how the fish had got stuck - and he got the fish back into deep water, it practically flew out of his hands, and it was away. I only got one very quick picture of the fish just as my husband was about to it pick it up for its rescue.

The rest of the walk was uneventful, there were some shoreline art projects, and we had a conversation in passing with another walker, all of us amazed at the weather we're having in the middle of December! On our return loop to the car I could hear a very distinctive bird call and saw bald eagle in the tree line not far from the shore - I am not a bird photographer so my pix of it with my small lens are not worth sharing but here are some other images from our morning.

Hubby has prepared us a stew for supper which smells delicious in the oven.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.