Capturing the Everyday

By JulianBuchanan

Tui - Radiant in the Morning Sunshine

This morning was glorious.

Blue sky everywhere, completely still, wonderful bright clear light - it was one of those days when it felt particularly wonderful to be alive and a day when you just wanted to be out soaking in the goodness of life.

One of the benefits of working from home a few days a week is the flexibility. So straight after breakfast I wandered out with my camera around the nearby lagoon.

I had a few different shots but I’ve gone for a Tui again - partly because this shot is quite different from my previous Tui shot. This shot appears almost like the Tui has been shot in a studio with bright spotlights lighting up the various colours on his feathers. I was pleased with the colours in the bright morning sunshine, pose and crispness of the shot and the beauty of the flax flowers.

Best viewed LARGE don’t know if that link makes it large?

The Tui have an air of authority about them, they seem strong, private, dominant, and fearless. They are the birds that often start the dawn chorus and often the ones who end the call at dusk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.