Lifting

The sun was out so I went out too. I decided to go and grab some shots of Hampstead lock which is on the Hampstead Road Canal. Of course you may think I'm making this up but the Hampstead Road Canal cuts off a loop on the navigable river Medway and avoids Twyford Bridge which is a medieval pack bridge, a grade I listed monument and not really designed for navigation. It also wasn't built for modern traffic; it's only 12' wide so traffic is controlled by traffic lights. Anyways, I took some shots at the lock and then the guys from the Environment Agnecy who were working through the lock told me that this narrow boat was being lifted a little further up the cut. I went up and grabbed some shots.

This is a traditional steel-hulled narrow boat; it's less than 7' wide. It has a traditional stern with a tiller. I was told it was from Tonbridge and sank here during the floods last year. I was also told that it wasn't the first time this boat had sunk. The owner will only get the boat back once he's paid the cost of this lifting operation but the Environment Agency wanted it out of the canal and given it's been here a year that seems reasonable.

Looking for details of when the Hampstead Rd Canal was built I stumbled across a number of marinas selling cruisers............. very tempted.

Edit: I should add that there is another Hampstead Rd Lock - it's also known as Camden Lock and is near the OU office in London.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.