Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Home for Dinner

This is my Dad's favourite slow-cook sausage hotpot, which he got home in time to eat for dinner today.

In the end I accompanied Dad in the ambulance car all the way from Chelsea to Tiptree, as I thought it would be too long a journey for him to do with just the driver and nobody looking after him in the back seat making sure he was okay all the time. We saw many of the sights as we drove through London, past the Houses of Parliament, along the Embankment, through the City and the East End, past the Olympic Park (near where Mum was born), then up the M25 and the A12. Dad stood up well to the long journey, but I know he was shattered by the end of it.

We arrived in Tiptree at a quarter past five. Mum and my sister were waiting for us. It was such an emotional moment seeing Mum and Dad reunited at last.

It was a long day for us, and we were all exhausted by the end of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.