Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Christmas at The Burrell

I almost had the place to myself this afternoon, just what I needed. I haven't had a good day, but distracting myself amongst beautiful, familiar treasures helped.

The sandstone Portal and Door beyond the Christmas Tree are from Hornby Castle, Yorkshire - early 16th century. Burrell collected arches and doorways, several of which feature within the building. I have just realised that this fits rather well as a follow on to my very late post last evening of GP's 2015 Challenge.

Came home to a lovely encouraging card with these words from
Isaiah 45 v 3 :
"I will give you the treasures of darkness,
riches stored in secret places,
so that you may know that I am the Lord,
the God of Israel, who summons you by name."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.